Monday, October 23, 2006

Halloween Party! Woo

So! This friday we are having a halloween party in the crypt. We chose this friday instead of the next one, which is a tad closer because Rob will be with us for this week! woo! The Crypt despite already being the perfect setting is being upgraded to an even creepier level of cryptness. Many thanks to Rob and David for that - their enthusiasm for this gathering is quite exceptional.
Yesterday we bought many pumpkins and large amounts of booze. All Crypt Online bloggers are welcome to come, but a donation of either money or alcohol itself towards the drinks fund would be greatly appreciated.
There is a major condition upon entry, however - you must be wearing black clothing, in as formal a manner as possible.
So there you are doods. Its a party.

Jon

Thursday, October 12, 2006

KFC Pig out!

Hey Doodles! Hope you are all well. Anywho, i have heard that our dear friend Robert will be returning over his university "half term" so, for one of the nights he is with us, i am suggesting a KFC pig-out in the crypt - family bucket with all the trimmings and all that. I haven't had any for ages, and this sounds like a good excuse. Who's in?
Larry

Monday, October 09, 2006

North Korea - some thoughts

So, today has seen the news of a nuclear-test by that mysterious nation, North Korea. It is merely no more than a country acting as a petulent child shouting "look at me, look at me!" Wow. You have a rock. Unfortunatly you dont yet have a catapult which could put the thing further than a few miles into the Sea of Japan, forget the west coast of America or Canada or, Europe for example.
It is now up to the world to decide what to do. The most serious outcome, and i include invasion of Korea in this list, is an eventuality leading Korea and Japan to also believe that they too need Nuclear weapons (and lets face it, they could build one which is 10 times smaller than the NKorean one, goes 10 times as far, and in 10 times as less time), thus creating a second "cold war" situation in Eastern Asia, and, oh yes, we must not forget to add China to that little happenin' party.
The North Korea issue is the only one i can see at the moment where i would actually not object with Military Action. To say i would support it strongly is farcical, but since "The Democratic Peoples Republic" of North Korea has no proper allies (countries like Iran will be pleased they are taking the spotlight off of them, but somehow i dont see them coming to the aid of North Korea) and if any military action is to be taken against them then it should be done sooner rather than later, before they get the chance to expand any nuclear developments they have. I would like to point out that i disagree with all Nuclear proliferation, and would like to see America consign more of its missiles to destruction (something which has strangely dwindled during the Bush years), as should Russia, China, Britain and (possibly) Isreal.
Margaret Beckett has called for tough sanctions. (Margaret Beckett shouldnt be in that job, by the way - Straw was da man) But what are tough sanctions? They appear to have it pretty rough up there already, i dont see what we could actually do now to cause them any more economic problems.
I guess this all boils down to the petulant child. Do you face it head on, smack it and put it back in its place, or do you turn your back and ignore it until it either realises it is being stupid, or does something it will later regret.
Something to think about there doodles, your comments, as ever, are welcome.

PS. Have just watched "Death of a President" on More4. Very, very good. If you get the chance at some point, i suggest you try and watch it.

Night all,
Jon

I'm Coming Home

Just a very quick post to say

I AM COMING HOME

for my birthday weekend, i arrive on friday 20th Oct sometime between 8pm and midnight and going back on the sunday 22nd at 3.20pm. so it will be brief, but i will be home

so organise baby!

Sunday, October 08, 2006

HIGNFY! HIGNFY! HIGNFY!

Yes! It is back! And the repetition in the title was deserved!

Probably the best show of English-made television is back on Friday! "Have I Got News For You!"
Messers Hislop and Merton will be back to provide Friday nights with renewed laughter - at last! The show will continue with its guest-presenter format, with Gordon Ramsey presiding over the first episode, and others including another performace from that wacky tory toff, Boris Johnson!
I cannot wait!

Jon

Corporate Child Names - Some Thoughts

So, after i watched last Fridays "best of the worst", it left me with some thoughts on interesting child names. One of the rounds was for the contestants to guess the name of a new-born baby, with the parents naming it after a certain well-known company. It turned out to be Ikea. This prompted me to consider some other company names that may double as child names - here are my choices, feel free to comment and add your own.

My favourite is the drug company Astra-Zeneca, but here are some other possibles -

RioTinto (Mining) - The name for a petit-girl from Sao Paulo.
Pfizer (Drugs) - Hardcore, efficient name. Has German child written all over it.
Morgan Stanley (Banking) - A complete name, and so elegant. Actually come to think of it, Morgan is a really interesting boys name. I may take this further . . . Or is it a girls name? hmm. . . .

Hope you all had good weekends! I was at David's on Sunday and we played Defcon. The World was a mere pile of radioactive isotopes by the time we had finished with it! Muhahahah!
Speaks Laters Doods
Jon :p

Friday, October 06, 2006

Chavs! A Slight Bonus!

Hey there my dear friends. Something occured to me today as i was on my way home, and drove past one of Plymouth's, and the UK's, stereotypical chavs. I wish to share what i thought with you all. After observing the chav, in his full traccy-wear a bonus to having the chav era around came to me. So, chavs are not 100% bad, just 99.9999999999%. The 0.00000000001% (i couldnt be bothered to count, so if they are wrong, forgive me), is the damage that they will do to the large, beastly corporations of Adidas, Reebok, Kappa, Puma and to a lesser extent Nike.
You probably now have realised the connection. As soon as the chav era ends, current estimate 2-5 years time, a huge void is going to be left in the income books of these large corporations. This is great, because its high time these companies get whats coming to them after their inhumane treatment of ill-paid workers in the far east.
So, to sum up - i don't have anything.
Hope you all are well, speak to you soon
Jon

Monday, October 02, 2006

Jon the Working Man!

So lads, today i performed my first ever day of official paid employment, and twas really cool - wearing the suit at the office felt really good, as did meeting everybody and trying my hand at a few of my new duties - it is mind boggling what i actually have top learn over the next 3 or so months, so i reakon im gonna be very tired for a fair portion of it, and i shall definatly be appreciating my weekends a whole lot more, but still, i think i am really going to enjoy it. Last weeks course was really cool, im slightly bummed that i'm not actually going to get to work with some of the people i met but i probably will see some of them periodically, and i'll try and keep in contact with the others. So stuff is cool.

Hope everything else with you guys is good, Rob enjoy your first lectures this week, Olly, enjoy your continued lectures, same to you Jimbo and Pete, try not to loose any fingers this week.

In other news, i was very pleased to learn that far less people think Cameron is as good a choice now as he appeared at party-election time. Joy! The conservatives live to suck another day

Speak to y'all later, Simpsons called, where, incidentally, Plymouth was displayed on the other day - i felt proud. Laters!

Larry